Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2016

Date and time: 30th June 2016 All Day

Location: , ,

The Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2016 once again had entries from all round Australia and New Zealand. The judges, Chris Gallagher, Robyn Mundy and James Dryburgh have selected ten stories for publication.

The winning story by Craig Cormick will appear in the June edition of Tasmania 40° South magazine and all finalists’ stories will be published in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2016 to be published around August/September.

This competition is run annually and all are encouraged to enter again in 2017. Entries will close on Monday 13 February.

Winner: Craig Cormick (ACT) – No man is an island

Craig Cormick is an award-winning Canberra author and science journalist. He writes fiction, non-fiction, short fiction as well as kids books. His writing awards include a Victorian Community History Award (2015), a Queensland Premier’s Literary Award (2006) and the ACT Chief Minister’s Book of the Year Award (1999). In 2008 he received an Antarctic Arts Fellowship to travel to Antarctica. He loves writing in the blurred lines between fact and fiction and his books include Ned Kelly under the Microscope, In Bed with Douglas Mawson, Uncle Adolf, and Unwritten Histories.                                                   

Highly Commended: Keren Heenan (VIC) – All the quiet things

Keren Heenan is a Melbourne writer and teacher of the Arts. She has won a number of Australian short story awards, including: the Ellen Gudrun Kasten Award 2007, the Southern Cross Literary Competition 2009, the Hal Porter 2010, the Alan Marshall (Local Section) 2012 and 2014, and placed 2nd in the Fish Prize 2015. She has been published in Australian journals and anthologies, including: Overland, Island, Wet Ink, AWAW 2010, 2011, 2015, Forty South short Story Anthology 2015, in Aesthetica Creative Writing Annual (UK) 2014 and the Fish Anthology (Ire.) 2015.


Alicia Bakewell (WA) – Walking on water

Margaret Forster (TAS) – My first volcano

Malcolm King (SA) – Eddystone Rock

Andrea McMahon (TAS) – Crystal Ball

Wendy Riley (VIC) – Maya’s Story

Karenlee Thompson (QLD) – Jack Frost

Roger Vickery (NSW) – Seven Variations on the theme of recovery

Helen Wyatt (TAS) – Maria Magic

Congratulation to all our finalists.

The Tasmanian Writers’ Centre has generously awarded Tasmanian finalists (Margaret Forster, Andrea McMahon and Helen Wyatt) one-year free membership.